By Stasa Misic

Focus on ANAHATA – the heart chakra

Anahata represents our ability to love, and the quality of our present, past and future loves. It gives us the opportunity to show love and care.

How do we know that our fourth (heart) chakra is out of balance?

When we feel sadness, anger, jealousy, possessiveness, fear of betrayal and hatred towards ourselves and others.

We have all been hurt in the past, whether it is by parents, brothers, sisters, partners, etc. It is impossible to avoid situations in which we will get hurt. However, it is up to us how we will react after that. Some will try to fight back and hurt the person who hurt them. We should be aware that a person who inflicts pain on others is doing so out of fear, hatred or ignorance. Their heart chakra is blocked.

We can either let go of hurt feelings from the past and move on, or we can hold on to them. If we let them go, we have the ability to step out of the box that limits us and to open our hearts to new people and new experiences with compassion, love and understanding. If we hold on to the past, we deny ourselves the ability to love in the present.

The heart is our main indicator of whether we are doing something right. Through the heart chakra, we feel universal love and connection with the entire cosmos, as well as the pain of another and the ability to empathize with them.

When the heart chakra is balanced, a person flows with love and compassion and quickly forgives and accepts oneself and everyone around. Anahata encourages us to follow our hearts and find our true selves. We are open and kind to others, and we feel an endless joy in which we want to stay forever.

Some of the yoga positions that can help us release the flow of energy in our heart centre, learn to go beyond ourselves, focus on love, sharing, forgiveness and compassion, as well as, better function of the heart, lungs, respiratory system are:

1.    Uṣtrasana – Camel Posture

Benefits on the physical level: It stretches and opens up the chest, and stimulates the respiratory, digestive and endocrine systems.

2.        Purvatanasana – East Facing Intense Stretch

Benefits on the physical level: It strengthens leg muscles, shoulders, wrists and abdominal organs.

3.    Natarajasana – Lord of Dance Posture

Benefits on the physical level: It tones and strengthens the legs, chest, shoulder and back muscles. It Improves balance and concentration.

4.    Hasta Uthanasana – Hand Raising Posture

Benefits on the physical level: It helps in expanding the chest and improves lung capacity.

5.    Tiryaka Bhujangāsana – Twisting Cobra Posture

Benefits on the physical level: It strengthens the spine and makes it flexible. It stimulates and tones the abdomen and abdominal organs, improves digestion and strengthens arms and shoulders.

Note: If you have any health issues, consult your doctor and yoga instructor before workouts.

If you want to learn more about the Himalayan School of Traditional Yoga or learn about specific yoga positions visit:

Order book here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.